Posted in emotion, Health

Empowered by madness

Distance the mind from what’s happening

Let’s stop it in it’s tracks

The negativity keeps coming back and why is that?

I do not know why. I cannot stop this thing that attacks

You have to sit and listen i can no longer cover the cracks

Theres a little thought in my head that does not vanish-

cannot be vanquished

It grows in fact, it’s bold in fact,

wears red and takes ahold.

It is stronger than my pen even when it is on paper

it does not step aside even when pills are tryna stop her

It’s definitely a she only a girl can bitch like that

It is definitely a he only a boy can scrap like that

It is definitely living inside of my skull –

deading all my cells and creating a big hole

and while all this is occurring

my stomach is churning my hands are shaking;

breathing isn’t easy and my vision is blurry;

heaving and heaving begging and pleading-

God can you stop this I don’t like this feeling.

Take a seat before the next which is always around the corner,

ready to get you before you forget this horror,

this panic and anxiety this dread and bother,

this illusion of happiness plasted on the cover-

of every line I write- everytime I smile -every jolt of laughter everything that I let by,

in my hello’s and goodbyes when you’re distant or by my side,

you can feel that there’s a presence of depression that cannot hide

coz it’s alive

It’s empowered it is driven by my own madness,

it’s running it’s course and running out of sadness-

Sadness and out of steam

and I wake up in the hospital running in my dream

tried to run away

but a car ran over me

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

Leave a Reply

