Posted in Islam, Poetry, Religion, Unspoken spoken word

The Note

It will break my heart

the heart that is now losing its beat for life

to know that you smiled or laughed

whilst I was being crushed inside of my cloth

-but that would be selfish of me

to not allow you to move on

so I must sit and wonder for a new wish

a lasting wish

that would be gratuitous

or generous

a lasting wish for yourself, no, for me

but for me I ask for your prayers

not tears

unless in anguish

thinking of your own torment

that awaits

if you do not take heed

-so take heed

I plead with you

take heed

for when this time comes

and the cloth is spun

around your privates

around your legs

the ones you once proudly walked with

those feet you stood your ground on

that strong torso that carried the weight of your pain

those shoulders that nestled others problems

and then those hands that have been wrapped already

that try to stop the cloth strangling your mouth and your nose and your eyes

those eyes that could not see the signs that were there

when this time comes

you will be able to see

a light

a light that you welcome

because you know you took heed

you saw the signs

and you acted

walking swiftly towards your Lord

you took heed

and now as you are lifted and lowered

you smile with your index finger of your right hand raised

as the soft ground lets you rest

awaiting your kingdom that has been promised to you

-a.K.a-

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

Leave a Reply

