Posted in Anti-war, Children, Islam, Poetry

My Sister’s Eyes

 world-in-pic-129 April 2015

A family mourns the loss of their relatives to what activists say was a barrel bomb dropped by forces loyal to Syria’s President Bashar al-Assad, in Aleppo’s al-Fardous district

REUTERS/Hosam Katan. Image taken from independent.co.uk

I came across this image

This one above of my sister’s eyes

She is not crying don’t you see

She seems paralysed

She seems like she has lost her youth

Her eyes of a broken, aged woman

Look at her eyes, they feel despair

In this picture, there is not two children

But she is a child!

Just look at her

How at-ease she must look when she smiles

How sweet, and care-free must her smiles be

Her smiles get lost in the shrouds

Now look at that hand

Upon my brothers shoulder

It looks like a youthful hand

It could be a son, a brother- someone

Who is consoling this older man

Children are so resilient

But it’s hard not to be when they know no other

My little brother my little sister

I wish it could be

That you would not have to suffer

But alas! Here we are

With me looking at this picture

I wish I could at least let you know

That I have studied this picture

I have been present with you

I have prayed for your pain to go

I wish I could at least let you know

That we are looking at you

And trying to get you

Away from this torture zone

 

 

And I have noticed you, oh little child

The child with the broken heart

And I have asked Allah to give you a house

A house of crystals in Jannah inshaa’Allah

-a.K.a-


The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said, “No fatigue, nor disease, nor sorrow, nor sadness, nor hurt, nor distress befalls a Muslim, even if it were the prick he receives from a thorn, but that Allah expiates some of his sins for that.” (Sahih Bukhari, Volume 7, Book 70, Number 545)

May we all be rewarded with patience for whatever befalls us, may we all have the courage and voice to empower our brothers and sisters who cannot speak for themselves, may we all speak up against the oppressors and never ever defend the unjust ruler. May we be saved from jahannam and the fitnah of the Dajjal and be raised with the best of the best on the day of Qiyamah with our book of deeds given to us in our right hand. Ameen

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

2 thoughts on “My Sister’s Eyes

  1. سبحان الله
    Very powerful and touching.
    We ask الله سبحانه و تعالى to give them victory over their oppressors and to bring them comfort and ease. اللَّهُم آمين

Leave a Reply

