Posted in Life, Poetry, Unspoken spoken word

Deadly Living

Same mode. Serious face on. 

Smirking at the edges- decisions can’t be undone

Worried eyes. Disguised. 

By the holes in the mask but not the base of your heart. 

Thumping

Revealing. Mutiny. Revenge

Your causing a revolt in us beginners on the edge of becoming sinister

Delivering. Vanquish. Never content.

Strategies of innocence forcing forces to collide outside

in the room where we greet each other with off cheek kisses

no well wishes

this poisons delicious

red lips from the meat of your brothers

when you say you love one another

then talk shit at the back of another

we’re like drug-dealers

breathe it all in

You give me something I give you too that’s consideration

with no hesitation we sending each other our deeds no deliberating

on the consequences of our exchanges

I’m sneezing out the dirt in this air that you guys are filling with your empty words

شكراً 

I laugh till it hurts

the sound penetrates the atmosphere until the roses wither at the cries

the sun doesn’t shine on the hearts in these parts

but the rain offers more blessings and the people here deny

They sit in their shelters

Disbelief

Rain ruined your hair. Disbelief. 

The rose won’t rise for you. Make believe.

They say a coward doesn’t own up to his misgivings

So give back to your misses the one you left for your mistress

the etiquettes of a vow are lost on selfish beings

so don’t take that leap if you know your just vowing to leave

Throwing up the puke of the lies that you feed 

The angry disease on our screens

violence and sex in videos and tv

baby’s first words are “I wanna be in a movie”

Not I wanna go school coz education has value

Priceless yet tuition fees rise gradual

Knowledge is power it paves the best way

So seek wisdom from the cradle to the grave 

We teach children to smile even when they’re hurt

Learn from experience that it’s not gna work

Tell them to shed a tear it’s healthy for your healing

We got cells full of kids in juvy not grieving

teachers bang heads on walls as they feel they cannot guide them

and the parents are stuck in a system where they can’t even provide for them

It’s hard for us, it’s hard for them 

Ladies have shame keep your guard from men

I know it’s hard to make ends meet

but don’t throw off your garms it’ll make you cheap

like concrete they walk all over you

give yourself respect and the world will follow suit

it’s simple logic, 1+2

they did tell you that? deja vu

Last note for the predators

the so-called friends

who sweet talk you for a favour

use you like it’s a trend

ready for a season then disregarded at the end

sorry not sorry my time aint on lend


That’s your truth

Now live.

-a.K.a-

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

2 thoughts on “Deadly Living

  1. ما شاء الله
    I like the attitude of this poem, rugged and real.
    I’ve got something coming tomorrow إن شاء الله
    I enjoyed reading this, your an excellent poet.

Leave a Reply

