Posted in Islam, Poetry, Ramadhan

…From darkness we came…

It enveloped us quickly

at once what was dark is now light

the doors of heaven were opened 

for us to peer inside

the dreams we had envisioned

were nothing compared to this beauty

to close ones eyes and forget.

This dunya* is entirely illusory 

As Muhammad** said

our leader did say

we must sight the moon with our naked eye

to which we waited until such time

that the dark sky glistened with light

we abstained from food and other desires

until our Lord ordained

we met one another with smiles and hugs

with food on our entire plates

as soon as it came, so quick it is going

we are alas within the last 10 days

and we eagerly wait 

the night of Qadr, to make the most gains

but what of our nafs***

how have we changed?

Will it always be halal over haraam

I guess we will see, when Shai’taan is free

and another year until Ramadhan

-a.K.a-


*world

**صلى الله عليه و سلم

***soul

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

Leave a Reply

