Posted in Open Letter, Spoken Word, Unspoken spoken word

See Me (open letter)

Screaming through the silence

waiting for those screams back

it’s cold

but I don’t feel it anymore

the wind forces me to look down

while I’m still tryna fight

this war

too much for little shoulders

we floating on lifelines

looking life-like

but like those plastic models

you pay loads to go and see

just come out to sea

and see

we rummaging for anything to quench our thirst

at sea

and they let us on their shores

but really they just want to send us back on our way

it’s too hard back home

but it’s not proving to be easy here either

at least here we know we won’t be bombed

or killed for no reason

for a war we don’t understand

you can starve us here too

we’ll find a way

make a plan

make it work

don’t you know we just want to work

to go to school

to graft like you

I would apologise for my nationality

but I’m still waiting on an apology from you  for degrading my family

we don’t need to chew each other’s flesh in this way

we can be at peace

I’ll share my food with you

you can have the last cloth that’s on my back

but I know you don’t want my necessities

you just want that green paper

that Queen

people have five homes whilst ours are in heaven

I wouldn’t have it any other way

no exchange

-a.K.a-

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

Leave a Reply

