Posted in Islam, Life, Poetry

Get Yours

Working on staying right

Working on staying humble

Working on that humility

Working on not causing trouble

Working on keeping silent

Only ever speaking good

Working on halal earnings

Only ever halal food

Working on being strong

and working on being soft

Working on working hard

Working on being a boss

Working on those tears

Working on my fears

Working on my anger

and jealousy out here

Working on that envy

that follows me

That modesty that abandons me

That temper that antagonises me

Working on not being stubborn

but not compromising my integrity

Holding onto ethics respect

honour and dignity

Working on getting on

when life keeps on breaking me

Working on what to write

but screaming words can’t define me

No negativity

No supremacy

Why work three jobs

If you don’t work honestly?

No work, you think

so you fall into tragedy

Work against gravity

Say to work “Come challenge me”

Work on resilience

Work on concentration

Pray your salah

that’ll work your dedication

Work never ends

Don’t let yourself fall behind

There’s always something that can be

prepped and primed

Allah plans in my favour

“Man can only have that for which he makes effort”

The Merciful is my saviour

and I work on being amongst His favourites

Learning skills for work

or working my home

I strive for good and

correct my ego

“and his striving will soon come in sight”

It’s been promised

I work all day and night

Just to watch my profits flourish

“Then he will be rewarded with a complete reward”

Work

so when the time arrives you’re

ready to meet The Lord

“And the final goal is towards your Lord”

My work will be done

when a smile comes to me from my Lord

-a.K.a-


We are losing the value of hard-work. There was a time when the manual labour of our ancestors determined whether there would be food on the table for them that night. When the labour of your parents determined whether you would get an education. When your circumstances were a product of your strong work ethic; your long hours; your ties to your family

We are amongst the privileged in the UK to have our education provided to us with no cost, our food easily accessible, working 9-5 not sunrise to sunset. Shelter, food, warmth, clothes. We call the basic needs. But half the world has silk garms and the rest live on the streets. And yes, there are those in the West who have a damn hard time too. but trust me, the privileged also have things to work on.

While the poor work on getting food. You work on your charity. While the poor work to get an education. You work on the presentation of your speech.

Recently, I’ve met a number of different people from privileged backgrounds and under-privileged backgrounds studying under the same roof. I have been able to see those from humble backgrounds rise to be bigger idiots than those living in the high-end postcodes. My point being, everybody has something to work on. It’s not all handed to you on a silver platter and Allah swt wants you to work for it. For that work, a reward has been promised.

So get yours

-a.K.a-

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

Leave a Reply

