Posted in Uncategorized

Shadows of the Heart

The silence used to be scary

Reminders of who were missing

Now the trees can wave goodbye for me

and the howling wind can complain

As rubbish clatters the streets

and the clock keeps ticking

It’s just this elephant in the room

three present. three witness.

Allah, myself and Satan

the battle has me shaking

the light is so close

say no with conviction or take the bait

 

………………

he cut a line across her face

forehead to chin

“that’ll teach you”

Keep your mind and mouth lipped

Make you escape from your faith

with drugs infiltrated in water

mix it up. no disclosure

The world spins and spins repeatedly

but your trapped in this room

trapped in this science

an experiment

“Scream as loud as you like”

he’s menacing as he says it

takes a knife sharpens the edges

I’m on edge

then it starts backing off

I knew I’d bite the bait and it would walk

until tomorrow

the nafs* still live and kicking

and it talks to us all

-a.K.a-

 


 

Nafs-A basic definition of this word refers to the psych, ego, the soul and in this context has been used to refer to the desires of the soul and fighting those desires (jihad alnafs-struggle against yourself-your soul) for a greater good in the hereafter promised to the believers.

tumblr_nysmm6JUM91sax7oso1_500

Author:

Hi, my name's Aisha and I am 24 years of age. I'm passionate about writing poetry. Sometimes, I don't know how to convey my thoughts in normal conversation but I can spin off a poem about what I am feeling in 5 minutes. Or less. Writing is my thing. Like it is a lot of people's 'thing' and sometimes the only 'thing' that is a sufficient outlet to stop us all from going crazy. There's a lot of pain and anxiety in my poems, but often relief, which I find hard to convey but manage to slip it in at the end with a reference from the Quran or a hadith. If you feel you recognise this same emotional attachment to words, then feel free to read my blog and do not hesitate to contact me, comment and subscribe! Peace, Aisha -a.K.a-

2 thoughts on “Shadows of the Heart

  1. I really love your poetry it is so beautiful and yet so Inspirational for people of the deen, I like to send them to my younger cousins who take pleasure in poetry that is not Islamic and they love it too..so this is quite a breath of fresh air.

    1. Salaam, thank you, jazak’Allah, that is such a nice comment. When I started writing my primary aim was to reach out to people, who like me, wanted something relateable yet with aspects of deen hidden in the meaning, so it makes me happy that I’m able to inspire youngsters especially. xx

Leave a Reply

